Drake Software blog for tax pros, covering tax, IRS news, and more

Tax Relief for Mississippi Disaster Victims

Tax Relief for Mississippi Disaster Victims

IRS Extends Filing Deadline in Affected Counties

Today the IRS announced that victims of the storms that swept through Mississippi now have until May 16 to file returns and meet some payment deadlines. This tax relief is also being extended to workers from government and philanthropic organization workers helping with relief efforts.

FEMA has currently identified Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Quitman, and Tippah counties as areas that will receive tax relief, noting that other countiesĀ could be added pending damage assessments. To read more about available disaster relief, follow this IRS link.

To read the full IRS Newswire announcement click here.

Source: Internal Revenue Service

admin taxing_subjects